PIER Certified    ICEF Trained Agent Counsellors New Zealand Specialist Agents ISO 9001: 2008 Canadian Bureau for International Education

Universities by State


Universities by State

Australian Universities are located in all major State and Territory capital cities as well as in many regional centers. Below are the list of Australian Universities classified by state.




  • ACT


    Australian Capital Territory (ACT), The site of Canberra was selected for the location of the nation's capital in 1908 as a compromise between rivals Sydney and Melbourne, Australia's two largest cities.
  • NSW


    New South Wales, (abbreviated as NSW), is Australia's most populous state and is located in the south-east of the country, north of Victoria, South of Queensland, east of South Australia and encompasses the whole of the Australian Capital Territory.
  • Victoria


    Victoria, is the second most populous state in Australia. Geographically the smallest mainland state, Victoria is bordered by New South Wales to the north, South Australia to the west, and Tasmania to the south, on Boundary Islet.
  • Queensland


    Queensland, is a state of Australia that occupies the north-eastern section of the mainland continent. It is bordered by the Northern Territoryto the west, South Australia to the south-west and New South Walesto the south.
  • Western Australia

    Western Australia

    Western Australia, is a state of Australia, occupying the entire western third of the Australian continent. It is bordered by the Indian Ocean to the north and west, the Great Australian Bightand Indian Ocean to the south, the Northern Territoryto the north-east and South Australia to the south-east. Western Australia is Australia's largest state and the second largestsubnational entityin the world.
  • South Australia

    South Australia

    South Australia, is a state of Australia. The southern central part of the country. It covers some of the most arid parts of the continent; with a total land area of 983,482 square kilometres (379,725 sq mi), it is the fourth largest of Australia's six states and two territories. South Australia shares borders with all of the mainland states and the Northern Territory.
  • Tasmania


    Tasmania is an island state located 240 kilometres south of mainland Australia. Tasmania is easily accessible thanks to daily flights from the cities of Hobart and Launceston to other Australian cities including Sydney and Melbourne.
  • Northern Territory

    Northern Territory

    The region of Darwin, Kakadu and Katherine is a spectacular area with an abundance of wildlife and tropical scenery. This is definitely one of Australia’s top holiday destinations with thousands of square kilometres of untouched national parks and waterways as well as spectacular gorges and valleys that will take your breath away. There are really only two major cities in this region and the first is the capital of the Northern Territory, Darwin, and the other being the city of Katherine.


For more information, please contact  one of our offices

Study in Australia | Study in the UK | Study in Malaysia | Study in Canada | Study in the USA | Study in New Zealand

Last Updated: 30 November 2009
               Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Apply Online

You can start your application with Studyco by filling out our online assessment form.

Start Study Assessment

Apply in Person

If you prefer to see a Studyco representative in person, go to one of our worldwide offices.

Find A Studyco Office
StudyCo Expo 2016